International Moot Court Competition Inaugurated at Bharati Vidyapeeth New Law College

Pune: 12th Justice P.N.Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition on Human Rights was inaugurated at Bharati Vidyapeeth  New Law College, Pune.This competition is  scheduled from March 21st to March 23rd, 2024 Under the  guidance of Dean and In-charge Principal Dr. Ujwala Bendale and Professor Dr. Shivangi Sinha.
Taking place within the lush premises of the New Law College, Kothrud,  the inauguration ceremony, on the 21st, witnessed the esteemed presence of eminent legal luminaries, including  Justice S. Thurairaja, Judge of the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka, Justice A.R. Masoodi, Judge of the High Court of Allahabad Lucknow Bench, and  Justice H.L. Gokhle, Former Judge of the Supreme Court of India.
With participation from 50 teams representing national and international law schools, the competition underscores the university’s dedication to nurturing a global community of legal professionals committed to advancing human rights and social justice.
The pinnacle of the event, the finals round, and valedictory ceremony planned on March 23rd, will witness the distinguished presence of Chief Guests, including  Justice Abhay S Oka, Judge of the Supreme Court of India, Justice Anil Sumar Sinha, Judge of the Supreme Court of Nepal, Honourable Justice Husnu Al Suood, Judge of the Supreme Court of Maldives, Justice Arum Kumar Singh Deshwal, Judge of the High Court of Allahabad,Justice Sophy Thomas, Judge of the High Court of Kerala, and Justice Anirudha P Mayee,Judge of the High Court of Gujarat.
The ’12th Justice P.N. Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition’ on Human Rights serves as a tribute to the vision of (Late) Justice P.N. Bhagwati, former Chief Justice of India. Since its inception in 2011, this competition has garnered global recognition, offering students opportunities to delve into the complexities of International Human Rights Law and refine their advocacy skills, doing justice to the visions of founder chancellor Dr. Patangrao Kadam. It is therefore indeed imperative to acknowledge the patrons of Bharati Vidyapeeth (Deemed to be University), New Law College: Chancellor Prof. Dr. Shivajirao Kadam, Vice-Chancellor Dr. Vivek Saoji, Secretary & Pro-Vice Chancellor Dr. Vishwajit Kadam, and Executive Director Dr. Asmita Jagtap Kadam, for their visionary leadership which paved the way for nurturing an environment conducive to academic excellence and upholding the legacy of Justice P.N Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition on human rights.
As the 12th Justice PN Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition approaches, anticipation mounts for the profound exchange of ideas and the advancement of human rights advocacy that this esteemed event promises to deliver.