SNBP bag a double in hockey


Pune, 24 June 2023: SNBP, Morewadi proved to be a dominant force and bagged a grand double by annexing the Under-15 boys and girls hockey title in the annual SNBP Group of Institutes ‘Subhadra’ Inter-School Sports Championship 2023-24, at the Dr. Dashrath Bhosale Hockey Stadium, Chikhali.

In the boy’s finals, SNBP fought off the challenge from K.N Kela High School, Nashik 3-1 after trailing by a goal at half time. K.N Kela School opened the account when Sikandar Shaikh (25th) scored. However, in the second-half SNBP fought well to reverse the score line. Atharva Kumar (28th) levelled scores (1-1) before a brace of goals by Neeraj Landge (39th and 45th) helped the hosts emerge on top.

The girl’s final was a one-sided affair with SNBP, Morewadi drubbing their Chikali counterparts 8-1. The highlight of the win was the three goal efforts by Sukanya Sayakar (3rd, 14th, 18th) and Maithili Bhujbal (12th, 13th, 17th). The other goals were netted by Saii Sapkal (11th) and Tanishka Jadhav (15th).

For SNBP Chikali: Unnah Shaikh (8th) reduced the margin.

A total of six schools took part in boys’ competition which included; SNBP, Morwadi, SNBP, Chikhali, K.N Kela School, Nashik, Jyoti School, St. Jude School, St. Andrews School, while 4 teams participated in the girls’ section.


Boys, Under-15, Final: SNBP, Morwadi: 3 (Atharva Kumar 28th; Neeraj Landge 39th, 45th) bt K.N Kela High School, Nashik: 1 (Sikandar Shaikh 25th). HT: 0-1
SF1: SNBP, Morwadi: 4 (Neeraj Landge 4th; Atharva Kumar 13th, 14th; Yash Lande 25th) bt Jyoti School: 1 (Ayan Sayyed 25th). HT: 3-0
SF2: K.N Kela High School, Nashik: 3 (Abhishekh Mule 2nd; Jayesh Fulpagare 4th; Iqbal Patel 8th) bt SNBP, Chikali: 0. HT: 3-0

R1: SNBP, Chikhali: 1 (Naresh Kothari 10th) bt St. Andrews School:1 HT: 1-0.
R1: Jyoti School: 1 (Vivek Bhamre 13th) bt Jai Hind High School: 1. HT: 1-0

Girls: Under-15, Final: SNBP, Morewadi: 8 (Sukanya Sayakar 3rd, 14th, 18th; Saii Sapkal 11th; Maithili Bhujbal 12th, 13th, 17th; Tanishka Jadhav 15th) bt SNBP Chikili: 1 (Unnah 8th). H.T: 6-1
SF-1: SNBP, Chikili: 2 (Gargi Raskar 5th, Deepti Kumari 24th) bt St. Jude High School: 0. H-T: 1-0
SF-2 SNBP, Morewadi: 6 (Saii Sapkal 5th; Riya Pillay 10th; Ritika Pawar 12th; Maithili Bhujbal 18th, 34th; Taniska Jadhav) bt St. Andrews High School: 0. H.T: 3 – 0