It’s Loyola v St Joseph’s in finals


Pune 21 November 2022  : Loyola High School and St. Joseph’s Boys High School lined up for a possible double entering the finals of the Under-14 and 17 section respectively in the 2nd Father Schoch Memorial Inter-School Hockey tournament, at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar-Pimpri here on Monday.

The tournament, conducted by the Ex Loyola Students Network (ELAN) and Loyola High School, Pune, saw both teams win contrasting encounters in the semifinals to make it a double dhamaka final day of the competition on Tuesday.

In the Under-14 section, Loyola High School rode on the penalty corner conversion by Vedanshu Desale (43rd) to pip St Patrick’s High School 1-0.

In contrast, St Joseph’s Boys High School hammered Jyoti English School 14-0 in a one-sided encounter. The highlight of the match were two stellar performances which included a four-goal feat by Neelkanth Devale (22, nd, 34th, 40th, 48th) and three-goals by Darshan Rathod (1st, 17th, 49th). St Joseph’s dominance was such that seven players got their names on the scorers list which included Dhurya Shah (6th, 41st-pc), Atharva Goyal (11th, 21st), Shorya Dongre (14th); Arya Yadav (19th, 52nd-pc) and Swarad Kamble (47th).

Later in the Under-17 section, both St Joseph’s and Loyola scored seven goals in their wins. Loyola had Ayan Pagedar to thank for his five-goal effort in their 7-3 win over Modern High School.

Ayan (14th, 19th, 24th, 25th, 39th-pc) had four field goals and one penalty corner conversion in his feat. Ketan Kadam (6th) and Swaraj Khilare (10th) added a goal each.

Modern had their consolation goals scored by the Musale brothers – Shreyas Musale (8th) and Sanchit Musale (15th, 58th).

In the other semifinal St. Joseph’s Boys High School put across a 7-0 verdict against St. Ursula’s High School which included a four-goal effort by Ajinkya Naiknaware (22nd, 34th, 40th, 48th).The other scorers included Vipul Kundgar (8th, 38th), Affan Mullla (18th).


Under-14, SF-1: Loyola High School: 1 (Vednashu Desale 43rd-pc) bt St Patrick’s High School: 0. HT: 0-0

Under-14, SF-2: St Joseph’s Boys High School: 14 (Darshan Rathod 1st, 17th, 49th; Dhurya Shah 6th, 41st-pc; Atharva Goyal 11th, 21st; Shorya Dongre 14th; Arya Yadav 19th, 52nd-pc; Neelkanth Devale 22nd, 24th, 39th; Swarad Kamble 47th) bt Jyoti English Schol: 0. HT: 9-0

Under-17, SF-1: St Joseph’s Boys High School: 7 (Vipul Kundgar 8th, 38th; Affan Mullla 18th; Ajinkya Naiknaware 22nd, 34th, 40th, 48th) bt St. Ursula’s High School: 0. HT: 3-0

Under-17, SF-2: Loyola High School: 7 (Ketan Kadam 6th; Swaraj Khilare 10th; Ayan Pagedar 14th, 19th, 24th, 25th, 39th-pc) bt Modern High School: 3 (Shreyas Musale 8th; Sanchit Musale 15th, 58th). HT: 6-2.

Under-14, Pool-A: Loyola High School: 3 (Harshawardhn Khune 8th, 30th; Aryan Gaikwad 26th) bt Lokmanya Tilak High School: 2 (Mazhar Khan 18th-pc; Uddesh Kamble 57th-pc). HT: 3-1