Income Tax, Krida Prabodhini stamp their class


Pune, 29 June, 2023: Senior league outfits Income Tax, Pune and Krida Prabodhini showed their might, scored at will and stormed into the semifinals of the Bharat Ratna Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Hockey Tournament 2023, at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar, Pimpri on Thursday.

In the first quarterfinal, Income Tax Pune proved to be a superior unit to PCMC Academy and made it a one-sided affair with a 6-0 verdict.

Aided by a brace of goals by Bhim Batala (11th & 26th) which was interspaced by Ranjit Kullu (13th) who netted off a penalty corner Income Tax Pune took a unassailable 3-0 lead at the halfway stage.

On resumption, Nitin Nandandori (31st) struck early, which was later capitalized upon by Tejas Chavan (34th, 55th) to complete half a dozen on the scoreboard.

Later, Krida Prabodhini and Railway Line Boys played out a 11-goal thriller, before Krida Prabodhini walked out 8-3 winners. Krida Prabodhini, playing with ease, worked up a 3-0 lead with a goal from a penalty corner, penalty stroke and a field goal.

The Prabodhini team drew first blood when Mayur Dhanavade (11th) gained success off a penalty corner, which was doubled after Vinayak Hande (25th) successfully pushed past the goalkeeper. Sagar Shingade (27th) his first of the three-goals he scored in the match to help the Prabodhini boys lead 3-0 at half time.

Railway Line Boys pulled one back via Rohan Musale (38th) to make it 3-1, but thereafter it was Krida Prabodhini who netted four in a row – Sagar (40th, 44th), Vinayak (42nd) and Venkatesh Kenche (43rd) to make it 7-1.

Railway Line Boys had Uday Baramatikar (55th) made it 7-2 before Krida Prabodhini netted their eighth via Venkatesh (57th) to make it 8-3. Amol Bhosale (58th) netted the last goal of the game to narrow the margin to 8-3 for Railway Line Boys.


QF-1: Income Tax Pune: 6 (Bhim Batala 11th, 26th; Ranjit Kullu 13th – p.c; Nitin Nandandori 31st; Tejas Chavan 34th, 55th) bt PCMC Academy: 0. HT: 3-0

QF-2: Krida Prabodhini: 8 (Mayur Dhanavade 11th – p.c ; Vinayak Hande 25th – p.s, 42nd; Sagar Shingade 27th, 40th, 44th; Venkatesh Kenche 43rd, 57thbt Railway Line Boys: 3 (Rohan Musale 38th, Uday Baramatikar 55th; Amol Bhosale 58th – p.c). HT: 3-0


GST & Customs, Pune v Hockey Lovers Sports Club – 1.30pm; Kids XI v Central Railway, Pune – 3.30pm


Income Tax (white-red) v PCMC Academy (red)

Railway Line Boys (white-blue) v Krida Prabodhini